Album Review: Ash Code – Posthuman


Ash Code


Realeased Date: February 27th, 2016




Ash Code is an Italian Coldwave/Synthwave band created in 2013. It is composed of Alessandro (voice and programming), Claudia (synth and voice) and Adriano (bass). Posthuman is their second album. It is the successor to Oblivion released in 2014.

It opens with the cold track It’s Time To Face The Abyss. The repetitive lyrics, supported by the synth set the atmosphere. Then the great Nite Rite comes with its nagging rhythm, intensified by Alessandro’s deep and penetrating voice. Challenging The Sea and The Last Stop display a short and fast punching rhythm. Insensitive has a clearer sound. We can note the presence of Claudia’s voice. She adds her almost talking voice which will maybe remind you of Miss Kittin’s voice. Sand and Fragments are more traditional Coldwave/Synthwave track, with a heavy and cold structure supported both by the bass and synth. Posthuman, the eponym track of this album is fast, you will find yourself move according to the rhythm. The background of Alone in your Dance will maybe remind you of some DIIV track. Tide brings a more melancholic atmosphere. Try To Be Me is more electronic and repetitive. This album ends with a slower track, A new Dawn.

Ash Code knows how to put forward and take the best of synth. It is unfortunately too common to use it only as background sound. Here it is clearly inked in Ash Code’s DNA and it perfectly mixes with everything else. The structure of most of the tracks of Posthuman is simple, but terribly efficient. It proves once again that in music complexity is not necessarily a synonym of quality. Ash Code has successfully built and affirm its musical identity. Posthuman is definitely very refreshing.

  1. It’s Time To Face The Abyss (3:41)
  2. Nite Rite (3:51)
  3. Challenging The Sea (3:24)
  4. Insensitive (3:29)
  5. Sand (4:29)
  6. Posthuman (4:02)
  7. The Last Stop (2:57)
  8. Alone in your dance (4:33)
  9. Fragments (4:53)
  10. Tide (3:14)
  11. Try To Be Me (4:13)
  12. A new Dawn (4:26)

3 responses to “Album Review: Ash Code – Posthuman

  1. Pingback: Der Noir | Goth Me Out·

  2. Pingback: Album Review: The Midnight Computers – Anxious | Goth Me Out·

  3. Pingback: Band Review: Geometric Vision | Goth Me Out·

Leave a comment

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s